Time is a’wastin…..

There is not a day that goes by that I don’t think about children in foster care waiting for an adoptive family. Some days it may just be a flicker through my thoughts and other days it is a fire that I just can’t seem to extinguish. The faces of the kids I know personally who have been waiting for years are always in the back of my mind. I even find myself saying out loud ‘who are we going to find to adopt these kids’?

And yet, time marches on. Days turn into weeks that turn into months that turn into years for some of these kids. The end result is kids that age out of the system that has been their only home. And in aging out they are set up for some incredibly difficult times (with statistics to back it up); homelessness, unemployment, lack of education, incarceration, sex trafficking, teen pregnancy, addiction, etc.

Sometimes I lose hope. There I said it. Sometimes it seems like there is nothing I can do to help find families for these kids; no program, no meeting, no coercion, no cutesy taglines or posters, no arm-twisting, guilt-placing, scripture-quoting that will move people to act. Other times I have to look deep into my own life; my thoughts, my selfishness, my laziness, my unwillingness to push harder and farther to get the word out about the need. The world tells me I should lighten up, get some rest, take a little time and I know that burning the candle at both ends is neither healthy, nor productive. But at the same time, these kids need families. They deserve families. And it is going to take out of the box, over the top, unconventional, ‘un-comfort’ producing sacrifice to get them what they deserve. Every day I choose to do nothing; every day someone pushes the ‘call’ to the back of their heart, every day that the church pretends not to notice the fatherless children in our country and around the world, is another lost day in the life of a child who is waiting.

There is hope. But this hope requires action. And this action requires our submission and obedience. ¬†What comes with the hope and the action and the submission and the obedience is the beautiful knowledge that God has chosen to use us, and that through His using us, our lives and the lives of waiting children are changed forever. Time’s awastin’- what are you waiting for?

“Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due, when it is in your power to do it!” Proverbs 3:27

Timothy

Published in: on June 23, 2013 at 11:53 pm  Comments (11)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://themiddlemom.wordpress.com/2013/06/23/time-is-awastin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have always wanted to help foster children. Is this something I can do being single or do I have to be married?

    • Dana-I guess it depends on what state you live in, but in Arkansas you can definitely be single and be a foster parent!! :)

      • I second Christie on that. And as a single foster/adoptive parent I want to encourage you to look into it your state. I became a single foster parent in May of 2012 and as of March 2013, I am now a single parent of two precious baby boys. Don’t let being single be a deterrent. God will give you all that you need to do what He has called you to do! <3

      • Amen Joie- and often it’s unexpected and totally out of our comfort zone! But as your beautiful family attests to- it is amazing when God moves mountains to bring kids and parents together!! So grateful for your heart and passion!!!

  2. Thank you, Christie, for always bringing this truth and keeping it in front of us. As an adoptive parent of two from the foster care system in Oregon, I say a hearty “AMEN” to all you wrote!

    • Jillana,
      Thank you so much for your encouraging comment!! What a blessing to me today! :) I am grateful for you and for your heart for waiting kids- as well as the fact that you have ‘practiced what you preach’!!! :) Thank you for reading and commenting-
      Love and blessings,
      Christie :)

  3. We are approved to adopt in our state, but after 3 months we still have not had one hint of a foster/adoption placement. I got very frustrated at a picnic of waiting families when I met people waiting 3 years or more. We aren’t looking for an infant, but will take a boy (or brothers) up to the age of 9. I continue for God’s time to make itself known, and pray for patience as placement of children is such an important decision.

    • Kelly, What state are you in? Would love to know a little more about your situation and your family! I know how difficult the waiting, praying and wondering is. Pray that God will move mountains to bring you and your children together!!

      • We are in SC. Our family blog is dawsondiaries.blogspot.com . We are at 4 months now and no placement, so we just keep doing family things, and house projects, and trying to ignore the empty room. We are foster/adoption approved, and hope for 1-2 boys (we think between 4-8ish). We have 4 daughters (ages 9-16) so we want to stay younger than our youngest. Thank you so much for your blog, it does remind me why we are trying to do this.

  4. I have 2 adult children and over the 12 years I have fostered I have adopted a total of 4 children, who still are of school age, and have 3 children that I foster. I became single in 2010 and have a house full of children. As incredibly hard and heartbreaking as it can be I habe not ever found a purpose (job) that has ever been so meaningful or rewarding. These children grab at my heart and touch me to the core of my soul. They deserve loving homes. They deserve someone willing to sacrifice their time, energy and love for them. I am constantly speaking with families about fostering and adopting. I so appreciate those families willing to give up a bit of comfort and provide a safe and loving enviroment for those that have gone without.

    • Debbie-
      I totally agree with you! These kids deserve the love and permanence of a forever family that gives them the opportunity to be all they are created to be! What a beautiful story you have!!! God bless you as you persevere to care for all of your children!
      Love and blessings,
      Christie :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

