If people just knew…

More and more I’m finding that if people just knew, they would reach out and help. It seems like everywhere I turn, people are surprised about how many kids are in foster care, how many kids are available for adoption, how difficult it is to navigate the ‘system’ , etc. And my experience lately has been that those people are stepping up to help and are making a huge difference in the lives of kids in foster care…and in the life of this sometimes weary foster mom!

I have to share 2 of those stories. The first involves my new friend, Nancy. I had spoken at a CALL recruitment meeting and was sitting at the back after it was over. This beautiful woman came up and sat down. She introduced herself to me and said she had read my book. The words that followed poured over me like a cool waterfall. She encouraged me and spoke blessings over my life and ministry. We discovered we had a mutual friend and talked about the 3 of us getting together.

Since that night, I have been blessed to have had lunch with Nancy on several occasions, even been to her home for lunch. She and her husband are moving through the process to foster newborns and she is SO excited and ready to follow the call God has placed on her heart. She canceled a trip so that she could help with November’s Heart Gallery photo shoot and when it was over, e-mailed me to say that once she had met the kids- she was ‘hooked’ and whatever I needed her to do, she was in.

The story doesn’t end there. Nancy purchased some additional copies of The Middle Mom and asked if I would sign them for some friends. Two of those went to sisters named Erin and Leigh Ann. A couple of weeks later, we all attended a fund-raising dinner for The CALL and ‘coincidentally’ (NOT) Erin and Leigh Ann and their husbands were seated at our (Jeff & I) table. They were precious and once again were so encouraging and uplifting. I was so moved by the fact that they were moved by our story. At the end of the night, I knew I had two new friends.

Was I in for a surprise. Not only did I have two new friends, but two teammates! Teammates who are starters and aren’t content to sit the bench. When I told them about a Christmas party that our church was hosting for one of the DHS offices-they were thrilled at the prospect of helping.

Now I’m the one helping! What an incredible gift to me! They have taken on this challenge with such excitement and are intricately planning ways they can make this party special for the deserving kids who will be attending. What a blessing to have someone new get involved with enthusiasm and passion, and lighten the load for those of us who still are enthusiastic and passionate- but sometimes a bit weary. I am SO grateful for these 3 women and for a heavenly Father who cares about such small details that He would bring them into my life at the perfect time.

Can’t wait to tell you all about the party! :)

Published in: on December 9, 2010 at 4:07 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://themiddlemom.wordpress.com/2010/12/09/if-people-just-knew/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. thanks for sharing the good side! Sometimes life makes it impossible to foster (we live in a state where having 7 kids makes us unqualified) and it is easy to forget that there are other ways to help. We are in the process of adoption, but outside of our state. It is exciting and wonderful when you know you are walking WITH GOD. and caring for HIS children. I will think about what I can do for His children around me in foster care! Can’t wait to hear about the party!

    • Hi Kym- Thanks for your comment! I went to your blog- what a beautiful story and a beautiful picture of you and your daughter!!! When is your new little son due?? Will he make #8 for you guys? I would love to hear more about your life and family! :) Love and blessings, Christie :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

