Persistent Passion

Here are some of the words used to define ‘persistent': relentless, unrelenting, haunting, lasting, tenacious, steady, lasting, enduring, constantly repeated, continued, ‘persisting especially in spite of opposition, obstacles, or discouragement.’ Passion is defined as fervor, zeal, ardor; any powerful or compelling emotion or feeling.

Persistent Passion. You can put any of the words above into the equation and the solution is always the same- I have a persistent passion for children in foster care. It is a persistent passion that is certainly not always understood, even by family and friends, and is often times misunderstood by the world or the system; but those factors don’t change the fact that God has put into my DNA a relentless fervor for vulnerable children.

This week my mailbox has been filled with a mixed bag of foster care stories. I have heard from two foster moms who are dealing with the devastating thought of losing children they planned to adopt; children who have been with them for over a year and whose lives hang in the balance. On the other hand, one of my good friends finalized an adoption today for two precious boys that she and her husband fought long and hard for. And yet another friend out-of-state wrote with great relief that the adoption hearing for their two girls in next week. And then, I was asked a poignant question by yet another foster mom who was at the end of her rope; “why, tell me why do we do this?”

It’s a great question. Why do we do this? The reality is very complex, but the answer is simple: Persistent Passion. We, who are called to foster, are not satisfied with the status quo. We are not willing to sit back and watch as children suffer abuse and neglect, or worse yet, to ignore that abuse and neglect even exist. We are determined that on our watch, children will be given the chance they deserve to be loved, nurtured, valued and cherished. We believe in a heavenly Father who can pick us up where we are and use us in spite of our frailties. We are undaunted by a system that is broken and by people within that system who don’t believe it, or the children in it, can be rehabilitated. We stand on the command that ‘true religion that God the Father accepts is to look after widows and orphans in their distress..’ We may falter, we may grieve, we may get angry and exhausted, but we will not be moved. Persistent passion…it’s what keeps me going when I don’t want to, when the grief or the sacrifice it too much to bear, when I can’t answer the question ‘why?’ and no one seems to understand.

Persistent Passion…relentless, lasting, steady. Foster children deserve nothing less.

Published in: on August 26, 2010 at 11:44 pm  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://themiddlemom.wordpress.com/2010/08/26/persistent-passion/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautifully said!

  2. Thank you for those words–so true and so encouraging for a weary traveler. So thankful for the support of other foster parents. Thank you for your relentless passion and encouragement!

  3. Thanks for the great word Christie especially when the road gets weary at times. It’s nice to have the support of other foster families. It takes an army of warriors often to fight these battles. So thankful for your encouragement and the experience you bring with it!

  4. We’re starting the process and I know we’re going to meet some resistance from our families. What you said is what I hope to be able to share with our family. The reasons we’ll be doing it.

  5. Christie, Just a quick note to ask for your prayers today. I am having my final home visit today and my home will be open for Foster Care. I am nervous, excited, anxious, all the things that come along with this experience. You have really inspired over the years. Thanks for sharing your life and ministry through these blogs.

    • Emily- That is awesome. I am so excited! What age group are you going to foster? Can’t wait to hear more about your journey.
      How is Chad doing? I can’t believe they are as old as they are. :)

      • I am asking for elementary age children. My last visit went well, I am waiting nad not so patiently for the phone company to get the phone in, they were to do it today and it was a huge mess, they didn’t have it done correctly, so as soon as that is done, she will key me in as ready to go. yes, it is hard to believe our little ones are grown. I didn’t realize Chase was married until I say something about it on Dee Dee’s page when Blake got married. Chad is at Henderson and he loves it. I can’t believe all these kids are growing up and of to college. It is amazing. :)

      • Chase married Holly Estes-they were high school sweethearts :) Do you remember Dwight and Cheryl? They got married on May 22- once again, it’s hard to believe I have a son old enough to be married!
        Are you still in Saline County? And did you go through The CALL or just through DHS? Elementary age will be perfect for you since they will go to school while you are at work. :) Are you willing to take a sibling group or just one at a time? I bet you will get a placement as soon as you open :)

  6. Yes, I remember Holly. That is so neat. You aren’t old enough to have a married son :) You are way too young.
    Yes, I am still in Saline County. I went through DHS because it was the fastest way to get done at the time. I can take 2 children at the time as long as they ar ethe same sex. I only have 1 extra room, so I have bunk beds in there and am in waiting mode. I will def keep you up to date. I have been struggling with what to do for years and I went to a meeting and it just all fell into place. It was definatley a God thing. I know I can’t do this without him. Trying to be patient. They told me today that there are some empty spots in Saline County right now. Lots of return to parents or family members lately.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 270 other followers

