Termination is tough.

Well, after almost 3 weeks of waiting, we got a simple e-mail this afternoon from E’s attorney saying that she had just gotten word that the judge had terminated his mom’s rights.

After all we went through with baby B, I had to read the e-mail again and then call his attorney. Sure enough-this part of the process is over. Now we head on to TPR on Dad, Mom’s appeal and a court date for a relatives’ motion to intervene. I can’t help but feel a deep sadness in my soul for E’s mom. Even though this case is very complicated and difficult (and I believe this is definitely the right decision for our precious boy), my heart breaks at the thought that, unless a miracle happens for her, this mom won’t get to see her son grow up. I’ve been here before, but it is never easy.

As I put E to bed tonight, I was overwhelmed with grief and yet soothed by the fact that the heavenly Father holds this child in His hands. In the midst of all of the chaos and frustration, I am so grateful to be able to rest in that fact.

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a future and a hope.”

Published in: on August 2, 2010 at 11:04 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://themiddlemom.wordpress.com/2010/08/02/termination-is-tough/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What an emotional day. Knowing that God is working on behalf of this child is amazing, but also knowing the pain it must have caused his mother…. heartbreaking. It’s so hard to imagine, as a mom, having my children taken from me and knowing they will never return. I will pray for her – and all of you.

    • Thanks so much Mandy! My heart has been so heavy today as I contemplate E’s future- but there is such joy in knowing that he is in the hands of One who knows what is best for him!:)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 257 other followers

