Power…..less

There’s been a lot going on the past few days. Not necessarily personally (although we are still waiting on a decision in E’s case), but ‘big picture’ stuff. And tonight I find myself in a funk. I told the Lord I just feel powerless. I feel impotent to meet the gigantic needs of children around this country, in my state, my city and sometimes even in my house. I read a blog tonight about a single mom with 39 adopted children….thirty-nine. When I read that, I felt guilty about not doing more, and yet I know that God has different parts for each of us to play. I feel like I can’t even get the right words out. My heart is so heavy and I feel like I have a rack of dead lift weights tied to my back. It all comes down to one thing….kids: foster, waiting, hurting, wounded, unwanted, forgotten, disposable kids. How can this world continue its quest for beauty and money and power and fame when all around us kids are languishing? How can we move forward with our every day lives when children are in need? Watch the video below to see a precious 11 year old named Kevan who is in need of a forever family.

http://www.todaysthv.com/news/news.aspx?storyid=109002

Although I may be in a ‘funk’, I believe with all of my heart that God really can use each of us to make a difference…(maybe not by adopting 39 kids), but by meeting the needs of kids in need one child at a time!

Published in: on July 23, 2010 at 2:53 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://themiddlemom.wordpress.com/2010/07/23/power-less/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. in our weakness HE is strong.

    sounds like you are right where you should be in order to have HIS strength shine thru you.

    i feel the same way, every single day and I struggle to get out of that funk as well but i am learning that this is where we see God’s hand move. when it’s not about us and ONLY about HIM.

    you are a great encouragement to all of us foster moms, especially when in your honesty you show us that you are right there with the rest of us.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 266 other followers