Put up or shut up.

There I said it. I said a ‘cuss word’ on my blog. Okay, so it’s not an ‘official’ cuss word, but it’s on the fictious list called “Christie’s cuss words” that I tout to my kids when words like shut up or s-t-u-p-i-d are uttered. Granted, by the worlds’ standards those words are pretty mild, but personally I HATE curse words-and even disrespectful words, for that matter.

Anyway, now I’ve gone and said one myself. Desperate times call for desperate measures. Put up or shut up.

It is time for the Christian community to do just that about lots of things. It is time for us to put up or shut up regarding foster children. It is time for the 500+ children in the state of Arkansas and the 130,000 children in the United States of America to quit languishing in foster care and find forever families. It is time that we put aside everything that is keeping us from stepping up to the plate, and step out in faith. It is time for the world to see more than a poster touting our views on abortion and sees us in the throws of the 24/7 that IS adoption. It is time for risk-taking and soul-searching and fact-finding and life-living. It is time that we-the Body of Christ- are more than just words…that we are the hair-combing, wound-binding, hand-holding, shoulder-bearing hands and feet of our Savior to children who, through no fault of their own, wind up in a system that sometimes could really care less. My heart is just so heavy tonight….it is time we put up or shut up. Really.

Published in: on June 6, 2010 at 10:05 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://themiddlemom.wordpress.com/2010/06/06/put-up-or-shut-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Amen!!! Well said!

  2. AMEN!

  3. I agree! The “system” breaks my heart and I’ve really seen the downside of it with our current foster (hopefully adopted) son. Hate that we missed seeing you and everyone at the Disney Extravaganza this year…

  4. YES and AMEN! It is so frustrating sometimes, and I have to remember that God will stir people to get involved – our part is to pray, set an example, give HIM the glory. BTW, remember our foster daughter that we were preparing for longer stays with mom – well some things have changed and we are officially adopting her!! Praise the Lord. She is such a gift to our family. On that note I was wondering if you could maybe write a post about how you decided to continue fostering after adopting. She will make our 5th child, and she has special needs. we are praying and seeking the Lord about if we should continue fostering right away, wait a while, etc etc. Your thoughts?

    • Hey Heather,
      What an incredible praise! It is amazing how God works when we can do nothing else but trust Him, isn’t it? I understand the dilemma you are in deciding whether or not to continue fostering with the new addition to your family. It is really a hard thing to know, but I believe that God will give you discernment when the time comes. We have had times when we have taken a break- like after baby B left suddenly. I took 6 months off-it was just too painful to even think about putting myself in the position to be hurt again. But, gradually, my heart opened up again and I just knew it was time. That was a year ago, when we got our baby boy (E). I think it is really a very personal decision! :) Hope that makes sense-and helps a little. :)

  5. So well said… absolutely words of TRUTH!

  6. Once again, thank you for sharing your heart. I look around and think, “Come on people, we have an orphan crisis going on here!!!! It’s our job to take action!” Thank you for being a voice that speaks truth!

  7. Thanks for sharing the TRUTH! Love your heart and passion for these kids.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

