It is amazing what a smile can do! :)

E and I were out shopping today (Imagine that!). I don’t go anywhere without someone commenting on how beautiful he is or how big he is! There are sometimes stares, and some ‘looks’, but for the most part people are drawn in by this precious little angel and wonder what our story is.

Today I was struck by the simplicity of a smile. I was pushing E in a stroller through a department store. As is usually the case, I was talking to him about what we were doing and where we were going next. When I rounded the corner, I locked eyes with an elderly woman who looked at me and down at E-then a beautiful smile came over her face that spoke so loudly she didn’t have to say a word. It said “what a beautiful boy you have there. He is a gift. There is no one like him in the world. I don’t know who you are to him, but I can see that the two of you have an intense bond, you love each other and have a good time together. God bless both of you as you enjoy this beautiful sun-shiny day.”

Okay, so maybe it wasn’t ‘all that’ but it meant all that to me. After years of eyes averted and questions asked, I am always so blessed by someone who doesn’t care about the ‘race issue’ or the ‘adoption issue’ or anything else…. just celebrates the life of an incredible little boy and encourages the heart of his mommy!

Published in: on April 29, 2010 at 8:48 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://themiddlemom.wordpress.com/2010/04/29/it-is-amazing-what-a-smile-can-do/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love this! Brought tears to my eyes as I read it…what a blessing a sweet smile can be.

  2. i know what you mean, i get lots of “looks” with my kids of all different races but when people just smile at them it makes me give this world a second chance :)

    • Amen sister! :)

  3. This is Great! We get those “looks” too. It is amazing how something as small as a smile can make all of this that much better!

    • That is SO true- and such a blessing when it happens! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 260 other followers

