The most kissable face in Little Rock…and beyond!

E has the most kissable face in Little Rock! He is so precious and is such a joy. Not only does he come out of his nursery classroom three times a week covered in lip prints, but now even a sales clerk at Target is kissing him! Lest you think I let just anyone put there lips on my boy, she’s not a ‘stranger’, she’s kept up with me and my babies for years…but I have to say this is the first one she has ever kissed!

Several years ago when our foster son Kenny was with us for 6 months, I calculated how many kisses I would need to give him for him to have one every day until he turned 18. Then, I went about trying to give him that many kisses! Not that it meant anything to him, but it made me feel better. :)

Now, I’m faced with the gripping thought of E leaving me as well and I’m challenged by the questions that always come during these difficult times-the “what if’s”. What if he does leave? What if it is the wrong decision? What if there is no justice for this child I love with all my heart? Will he wonder where we all are? What impact will this move make on his development? Will he have the opportunity to be all that God wants him to be?…the list is endless.

Then I remember the poignant and insightful scripture that says “don’t worry about tomorrow…today has enough trouble of its own!” and I’m thrust back into reality. The reality is that I AM this precious child’s mother today….and I’m gonna make the choice to relish the time I have to mother (and kiss on) the most kissable face in Little Rock!

Published in: on March 31, 2010 at 1:11 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://themiddlemom.wordpress.com/2010/03/31/the-most-kissable-face-in-little-rock-and-beyond/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Kissable he is and what a blessing he is too! I have to tell you that all of the emotions and thoughts you have shared are ones I have had. I’ve been thinking about all the possibiilities of the coming weeks and days. Praying, praying, praying God’s best for E. All I know is that he IS loved and that there is a sweet little girl who adores it when he pushes her in the stroller. :)

  2. That is beautifully written.. and you’re right. No matter what tomorrow holds TODAY you are his mother and the one God has entrusted him with. I need to bookmark this post and re-read it in the future once our home is finally open. We just got the paperwork and will get it notarized this Friday… then we’ll be starting the parenting classes. I’m a nervous wreck but very sure this is what we’re supposed to do – so keep posting, because I’m thirsty for any information I can get! :)

    • Thanks for your comment Mandy! Please feel free to ask ANY questions- because you will have lots as you move through the process and your home opens. I understand your anxiety, but you can rest in the fact that you feel God has called you to do this…and when you get the first call and the first child arrives in your home a lot of your anxiety will disappear! Can’t wait to hear what God does with your family. :) Love- Christie :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

