Hope Now

There’s an awesome song that I have on my Ipod (which happens to be missing at the moment!) called Hope Now by Addison Road. The chorus says “Everything rides on hope now, everything rides on faith somehow, when the world has broken me down, Your love sets me free.”

My heart is heavy tonight because of some tough foster care situations that some of my friends are facing; situations with NO easy answers. As I counted, I realized there were 5 of these situations that I could think of right off the top of my head.

You know, this journey is hard, really hard. Sometimes in my weakness, I find myself wondering if there really is hope. How do we reach out and break this cycle; a cycle that we are all too familiar with? How can we really make a difference in the life of a child who has been so damaged by the inconceivable acts of a birth family? How can we point a child to the heavenly Father who has never seen the love and nurture of a human father? Do we really have a voice in the midst of a system that is broken and flawed and filled with people who are broken and flawed? What can we do when a child seems bent on sabotaging everything and everyone that could turn his/her life around?

Like I said, there are no easy answers. As I type, the faces of children in our Heart Gallery and foster children that I have had the opportunity to mother (or just to meet) flash across my mind. Some of these children are extremely difficult- with behaviors and diagnosis that make them hard to love and nurture. However, I am reminded once again, that they are not on this foster care journey by choice. They don’t have a voice. It is up to those of us who carry the burden for them and those of us who physically care for them to be that voice. We cannot do it alone.

Will you join me in praying for EVERY child that is in foster care? It is up to us. Everything does ride on hope now, everything does ride on faith somehow and one thing is for sure His love really does “set us free”. Faith, hope, love and freedom- what a gift.

*Here are the initials of the kids involved in the difficult situations I mentioned above-J, Z, C, G, B, C, C, T, L- Feel free to comment and leave initials (only) of the children you want folks to pray for…(this could be the start of something big.) :)

Published in: on March 10, 2010 at 1:16 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://themiddlemom.wordpress.com/2010/03/10/hope-now/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can empathize so much…I was a foster parent for years and with a heavy heart had to return children to less than pleasant situations. As the adoptive parent of 3 foster children, I see what they deal (what our FAMILY deals with) on a daily basis due to the trauma they survived when toddlers and young children. One has to believe that the goodness of God can help overcome such struggles, but the day to day issues can be difficult.

    Lindsey Petersen

    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

  2. Hi Christie,

    Just to let you know I’m standing with you in prayer for all the children in foster care, including the children mentioned:) I have two more to add: “D” and “C”. Your blog is such an encouragement and a source of support on this foster care journey. I have a friend who is a foster parent, and is encountering some very difficult people. She’s feeling discouraged and is wondering if it’s really worth it:( I need to connect her to your blog – she’ll truly be blessed. Thanks for all you do for “our” children :)

    Hugs,

    Sue

  3. thank you for including Z and C in your prayers!! I love you friend! I am also praying for your baby E, and the others you mentioned. My heart is heavy for so many. I want to include our baby T, and also A and H…I need to call and check in with them, but there is uncertainty for them right now as well.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

