Out of the Box- Leaving a Legacy

Last week I got the opportunity to speak at a ladies event at our church. It was a wonderful night that was full of testimony from 3 sets of women: two had just returned from Haiti, two had been short term medical missionaries and two are really involved with Voice of the Martyr. My job was to, as our pastor’s wife put it “tie a bow around the night”. I wasn’t sure how I would do that after hearing all of the incredible things that these women had shared. However, the Lord had given me some points about following the call God places on your heart, and it definitely was Him who delivered the ‘bow tying’ that night. Here’s the abbreviated version:

I don’t know about you, but I want my children (and some day grandchildren) to remember me for more than my cooking, my housekeeping, what I bought them, etc. I want to leave them a legacy: a life that with all of its’ faults and frailties tried to do God’s will and find His purpose.
As I discuss the following points, I want you to think about what you are passionate about, what stirs in your soul when you think about a vision for your life, what you feel God has called or is calling you to do.
What God Calls You to Do:
* May come as a total surprise- or it may not at all, it might just be an extension of who you are, a manifestation of your gifts and talents
* Might not make sense- to you, your family and certainly not to the world
* Will take you out of your comfort zone (whether it is a mission trip to a foreign country and your afraid to fly- or its standing by a husband that everyone else says you should leave, etc)
* Will cost you something. The cost may be measured in comfort, money, time, dreams, even sleep!
*Will Force you to rely on HIM.
*Is easier to follow by taking one step at a time- not getting too far ahead of God or lagging too far behind
*Will not be easy- but will make your life so much more fulfilling as you see God work on your behalf!
*May not be pretty at times!
*Will (or should) shatter legalism and hypocrisy
*Will be like a movie of your faith to the world
*May spawn opposition

What does it take to do what God is asking?
*Faith-one step at a time- being assured it will happen (Hebrews 11:1)
*Patience-may not happen overnight (Nehemiah and the wall)
*Humility-realizing that I cannot do this on my own.
*Vision- begins with a discontentment with the status quo
*Trust- “when you can’t see His hand, trust His heart” Trusting in darkness, when you don’t want to, and when nothing makes sense.

I want to encourage you to step out when you hear God call you to do something-don’t be afraid, just DO IT. Believe that he is able to do “exceeding abundantly above all we can ask or imagine” Ephesians 3:20 What a blessing it is to be out of the box, but right in the middle of His will. :)

Published in: on March 8, 2010 at 10:04 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://themiddlemom.wordpress.com/2010/03/08/out-of-the-box-leaving-a-legacy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Christie,
    I have now passed your book to two friends who were moved immensely by it. One is not a foster mom, but felt God stirring her to use an abortion she had before she became a believer to minister at our local pregnancy center. The other is a new foster mom like me who wants to advocate. We are praying together about how God will use us. Thanks for continuing to “spur others on to love and good deeds”!

    Heather in VA

    PS I especially love the “vision begins with a discontentment with the status quo”. Awesome!

    • Hi Heather,
      Thanks so much for sharing what’s going on with you! I appreciate the encouraging words SO much! And what an impact your friend’s testimony will make in the lives of girls with an unplanned pregnancy. I had to say the ‘vision’ statement was not totally original- something like it appeared in Andy Stanley’s book “Visioneering”. :) (just wanted to give credit where credit is due! :) Keep me posted on what God is doing with you and your ministry, okay?
      Love and blessings,
      Christie :)

  2. Christie,
    YOu have such a way with words…they portray your passion, and the clarity God has given you about your purpose in serving Him.
    I am so grateful I get to call you my friend.

    • Becca,
      What a precious thing to say! And I am blessed to have you, with your calling and passion, in my life! :)
      Love and blessings,
      Christie :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

