Happy New Year

2010? Are you kidding me? It seems like the years are ticking off SO fast. I don’t know if that means I’m getting older, or if time really is just moving faster!
2010. Wow. Jeff and I went out tonight with Caryl and David. We had a great dinner with great conversation and then planned to go see “The Blind Side” but it was sold out :) As we drove, Jeff and I were discussing things we would like to change in 2010. We dubbed it the year “Thin in ’10” We’ll see! I definitely have a real incentive because Chase and Holly are getting married on May 22! And you know ‘mother of the groom’ is a pretty important part to play! HA! 2010 is also the year Jeff and I turn 50! That looks impossible in print. He of course is MUCH older than me with a May birthday to my October one.

Even in the chaos of a household with six kids and many more teens that are in and out at all hours, we have SO much to be thankful for. I find myself getting discouraged about the clutter, or the dust bunnies that have to wait because of an active 6 year old and a busy toddler, and then I remember how good God is and how undeserving I am. I just wish I would remember that every minute of every day!

So for all of us, may we embrace this year with love, joy, grace and the anticipation of great things. May we reach for dreams and desires that have alluded us in the past and may we make a difference in the lives of people around us just because we listen and care.

Published in: on January 2, 2010 at 1:47 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://themiddlemom.wordpress.com/2010/01/02/happy-new-year/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Christie,

    Just wanted to wish you a blessed New Year also. I just ordered your book, and can’t wait to dig into it:). My husband and I have been fostering for seven months now, and would never turn back. When I first heard of your book, I was excited because I felt like there was someone else out there, in the Christian community, who really does have a heart for the foster children. I know there are many people who do have a heart for these dear children, but you never hear of them. I truly believe this is going to change, and so I’m thankful that God’s brought you across my path. Our family will be getting more involved as being a voice for foster care, but not quite sure what that looks like yet. All I know, is that as long as God gives me breath, I will be a voice for these children, and I will love them all with the love of Jesus Christ :). Thanks again. Sue

    • Hi Sue,
      Thanks SO much for your comment. I would love to hear more about what you and your family are doing and about the kiddos you have cared for! Feel free to email me on my personal email jherwin@juno.com I’d love to hear your ‘book review’ as well once you’ve read it! :) Thank you for your encouraging words at just the right time…..
      Love and blessings,
      Christie :)

  2. Hi Christie!
    I can’t believe that ya’ll will be 50 this year. How can that be possible. I turned 60 in Oct. I thought that ya’ll would always stay young and here ya’ll are coming up behind me. I guess I thought this because back when we moved to LR in 1984, I was 34 and you were 24. You were young! We all were!

    I love hearing your heart about foster care. I have a friend who is investigating the possibility and I told her about your book, etc. She was already reading it! :-) God bless you and your family as you minister to these dear children. Everyone needs someone with skin on to love them.

    I’ll see ya’ll at the wedding. Give a hug to your folks! I miss all of you.
    Blessings!
    Cherry


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

